image for layout
image for layout
masthead bottom rule



Career & Technical School News

2017 National Technical Honor Society inductions


More than 40 CTE students from across the Capital Region and beyond honored for their academic achievements


Ashley Colvin and Alyssa Andrew pose with their NTHS certificatesMore than 40 Capital Region BOCES Career and Technical School (CTE) students were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) recently and eight seniors were recognized for serving two years in the NTHS during a ceremony at South Colonie Central High School.

To be honored, students had to meet several criteria, including earning grade point averages (GPA) of 92 or greater at Career & Tech and an overall GPA of 85 or greater at their high schools, as well as having five or fewer absences.

"I'm in awe of what you have accomplished," Capital Region BOCES Chief Executive Officer John Yagielski told the students, family and friends gathered for the ceremony.

The 44 new inductees and eight returning members hail from 17 school districts in the Capital Region BOCES and even include a one-time high school dropout, Stephen Zwack, who came to CTE as an adult student and has flourished in the program.

"I love the program. The work is interesting and the teacher is just great! You couldn't find a better teacher," Zwack said of longtime HVAC/R educator Frank Ando earlier this year.

Inductees are as follows:

  • Alyssa Andrew, Nurse Assistant program, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake Central School District
  • Samantha Barnes, Nurse Assistant, Duanesburg
  • Alexander Bordeaux, Auto Trades Technology I, Guilderland
  • Benjamin Brock, Auto Trades Technology I, BethlehemTeacher Scott Murray prepares to place the NTHS medal on criminal justice student Anna Clark of Bethlhem
  • Emily Campbell, New Visions Health Careers, Mohonasen
  • Dylan Chapman, Video Game and Animation Design, Mohonasen
  • Anna Clarke, Criminal Justice I, Bethlehem
  • Brianna Colucci, Global Fashion Studies, Duanesburg
  • Ashley Colvin, Nurse Assistant, Niskayuna
  • Christian Coons, Building Trades I, Voorheesville
  • Craig Couse, AYES, Guilderland
  • Julia Dickson, Nurse Assistant, Scotia-Glenville
  • Kathryn Dobesh, Criminal Justice II, Middleburgh
  • Kiera Donato, Nurse Assistant, Guilderland
  • Brandon Done, Automotive Tech Prep, Shenendehowa
  • Franasia Douglas, Global Fashion Design, South Colonie
  • Destiny Dugan, Criminal Justice I, Cohoes
  • Julia Fantini. Nurse Assistant, Mohonasen
  • Alyssa Farnum, Building Trades II, Schenectady
  • Angel Ferrand, Criminal Justice I, Shenendehowa
  • Jordan Fredenburg, Criminal Justice II, Niskayuna
  • Jordan Fuller, Nurse Assistant, Ravena-Coeymans-SelkirkAdult student Stephen Zwack and HVAC teacher Frank Ando hug after Zwack is inducted
  • Emily Garner, Criminal Justice I, Cohoes
  • Samuel Groezinger, Building Trades I, Guilderland
  • Kathleen Hannmann, Culinary Arts I, Middleburgh
  • Morgan Hoffmann, Nurse Assistant, Duanesburg
  • Joseph McIntyre, Culinary Arts I, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake
  • Marygrace Nichols, Nurse Assistant, Duanesburg
  • John Norton, Electrical Trades I, Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk
  • Michaela O’Clair, Criminal Justice I, Duanesburg
  • Evan Pollard, Video Game and Animation Design, Guilderland
  • Joel Raju, HVAC/R I, Schenectady
  • Sydney Roffman, New Visions Journalism, Guilderland
  • Shashwaat Sahai, Computer/Network Tech I, Voorheesville
  • Daniel Sawyer, Criminal Justice I, Cobleskill-Richmondville
  • Haley Shaneberger, Culinary Arts I, Duanesburg
  • Seanna Slingerland, Criminal Justice I, Guilderland Principal Joe Duffy congratulates second year NTHS memer Glenn MacDonald.
  • Emma Smith-Trendell, New Visions Law & Government, Schoharie
  • Lauren Szczepaniak, New Visions Health Careers, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake
  • Rachel Treers, New Visions Health Careers, Mohonasen
  • Taylor Vincent, Building Trades I, Berne-Knox-Westerlo
  • Kailynne Zafke, Criminal Justice I, Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk
  • Stephen Zwack, HVAC/R II, adult student


Those inductees join NTHS members inducted last year. They are:

  • Gene Broadwell, Commercial Construction, Cobleskill-Richmondville
  • Shaun Buerker, Electrical Trades II, Guilderland
  • Zackery Burns, Electrical Trades II, Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk
  • Matthew Cunningham, Building Trades II, Guilderland
  • David Hansen, Auto Body II, Voorheesville
  • Chanler Kanas, Building Trades II, Guilderland
  • Glenn MacDonald, AYES, Guilderland
  • Irving Skowfoe, Commercial Construction, Middleburgh


Top photo: Nurse assistant students Ashley Colvin, Niskayuna, and Alyssa Andrew, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake, pose with their NTHS certificates

Second photo: Teacher Scott Murray prepares to place the NTHS medal on criminal justice student Anna Clark of Bethlehem.

Third photo: Adult student Stephen Zwack and HVAC teacher Frank Ando hug after Zwack was inducted.

Fourth photo: Principal Joe Duffy congratulates second-year NTHS member Glenn MacDonald.

Below, the CTE National Technical Honor Society class of 2017.


The NTHS class of 2017




Leaders for Educational Excellence motto graphic
image for layout
image for layout